History of the Museum Buildings
A main section of the GNM is housed in one of Grenada’s oldest buildings, its foundations dating to the late 1700s. It may have functioned as a military facility, part of the Common Gaol or prison into the late 1800s, and a commercial warehouse. Its unique architecture may tell some of its hidden history. Other parts of the GNM complex have housed one of the islands’ most popular hotels, the Home Hotel (founded c. 1880s), which was succeeded by the Gordon Hotel, Hotel St. George, and Steele’s Place before finally becoming the Antilles Hotel (1940-60). Its last major occupant was the Ministry of Education of the Government of Grenada. After the Ministry of Education relocated, the entire complex was turned over to the GNM. Though the buildings have seen a number of renovations they still possess some of the original architectural and historical flavors, most conspicuously in the cast-iron balcony (manufactured by McDowall, Steven & Co. Ltd at the Milton Ironworks, Glasgow sometime in the 1800s), exposed stonework that possibly date to the French, and the fish-scale tile roof, which was heavily damaged by Hurricane Ivan in 2004. The historical significance of the buildings and its central location, make the complex appropriate to house the Grenada National Museum.